Reporter James Gherardi

Twitter: @JamesGherardi
Facebook: @jamesgherardiTV

Birthplace: Westchester County, New York

Education: Penn State University

Current Position/Job Duties: Reporter

Previous Work Experience: I spent three years as a Political/GA Reporter at the ABC affiliate, WSET in Lynchburg, Virginia. From there I spent two years as a Political/GA Reporter at the FOX and CBS affiliates in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Joined News 5: October, 2016

Most Memorable Stories: I launched an investigation into the Indiana Department of Child Services that exposed major shortcomings and inadequacies in the department and led to the Governor making changes and hiring new case workers to oversee the influx of abused and neglected children. Additionally, covering the 2016 RNC was a great honor and an experience I won’t soon forget.

Awards/Honors: Pennsylvania Broadcasters Association Award, Indiana AP Award

Role Models: Dan Rather, Steve Hartman, David Muir

Favorite Music: A weird mix – everything from Billy Joel to Ellie Goulding

Favorite Program: CBS Sunday Morning (can I say that??) and trash reality television

Favorite Foods: PIZZA… Bagels (the NY variety)… Goldfish… Really any carb…

Family: For the most part, still lives in Westchester County, NY. Mom and Dad are there, along with most Aunts, Uncles, and cousins. I have a brother and sister-in-law (who are expecting their first child!!) that live in Las Vegas.

Hobbies & Interests: I love to exercise, so working out at the gym or going for a run is always a priority. I love spending time outdoors. When the weather permits, I love to ski. Seeing a football, baseball, or basketball game is always fun. I also love to entertain, have people over for dinner, etc.

Something people don’t know about me: I’m an Eagle Scout. I played the cello since I was 7. I used to take opera lessons.

What I like best about NE Ohio: The amazing sports teams, the insane pride and love of city/community that Clevelanders have, not the winters.

You’re most likely to see me around town at: Downtown! Where I live.

On weekends I love to: Work out, spend some time with friends, cook a ton of good food.

Print this article Back to Top