Modell and DeBartolo Jr. eliminated from consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame

2013 NFL HOF class announced

NEW ORLEANS - Coach Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The class of 2013 also includes a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made Saturday in New Orleans, a day before the Super Bowl.

Five players were eliminated in the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell. And Modell's status already drawing different reactions from Browns fans.

"Vindication - I'm happy about that. He doesn't deserve to be in," said Frank Carozzi.  Out in Downtown Cleveland Saturday, Carozzi told NewsChannel 5, "…[he]was a horrible businessman that couldn't make enough profit to make it feasible for him to stay. He held the Indians hostage for God knows how long … nah there's no way he's a hall of famer."

Others weren't as pleased.  Brandon Harris said, "It's kind of disheartening knowing a legend like him couldn't make the hall of fame." Harris was joined by Amy Marino who said, "That's sad, that's awful… I don't think there's a reason why he shouldn't have made it."

Fans continued that back-and-forth Saturday. "I don't want to say anything negative about it but, you know, I'm not a big fan of his," said Brandon Fox.


Print this article Back to Top