UPDATE: What to know about Ohio's primary election candidates

Posted at 6:51 PM, Feb 02, 2022

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Just one day after the state's filing deadline for the 2022 primaries, entrepreneur Bernie Moreno has ceased his campaign for U.S. Senate on Thursday evening.

The state's filing deadline for the 2022 primaries is officially closed, meaning only the candidates for state positions that submitted before 4 p.m. on Feb. 2 are going to be on the May 3 ballot. Here is who filed, according to the Secretary of State's office.

U.S. Senate
Rob Portman's seat in the U.S. Senate is up for grabs this year, as the politician has decided not to re-run since he took office in 2011.

With Moreno dropping out on Thursday evening, eight Republicans and four Democrats are vying for the position.

Republicans include State Sen. Matt Dolan, businessman Mike Gibbons, Bill Graham (who seemingly has no social media), former State Treasurer Josh Mandel, businessman Neil Patel, "citizen candidate" Mark Pukita, former Chair of Ohio Republican Party Jane Timken and author J.D. Vance.

A conversation with former President Donald Trump is the key to Moreno's reasoning, the former candidate said.

"After talking to President Trump we both agreed this race has too many Trump candidates and could cost the MAGA movement a conservative seat," he stated in a press release Thursday.

The businessman alluded to potentially not receiving Trump's stamp of approval, saying that he "will focus [his] efforts on supporting the candidate that wins President Trump’s endorsement."

Moreno also exclaimed that Republicans need to stop U.S. Rep. Tim Ryan from winning the seat.

Along with Ryan, the democrats running are attorney Morgan Harper, tech executive Traci Johnson and "non-traditional candidate" Tinsley LaShondra.

However, if your favorite isn't on the list, House Bill 93 allows for congressional candidates to file up until March 4. More contenders may be on the ballot.

Incumbent Republican Gov. Mike DeWine is running for reelection, but he will face off in the primary against three others. The candidates are central Ohio farmer Joe Blystone, former State Rep. Ron Hood and former U.S. Rep. Jim Renacci.

The Democratic ticket has two candidates: Former Mayor of Cincinnati John Cranley and former Mayor of Dayton Nan Whaley.

Secretary of State
Three Republicans and one Democrat are running for Secretary of State. Republican Frank LaRose, the incumbent, is running against two others. Former state representative John Adams and podcaster and alleged conspiracy theorist Terpsehore Maras are on the primary ballot.

Democrat Chelsea Clark, a Forest Park city council member, will be up against the winner of the Republican primary.

Attorney General
Republican Attorney General Dave Yost will run unopposed in the primary. In the general, he will campaign against Democratic State Rep. Jeff Crossman.

Republican Treasurer Robert Sprague will also be running unopposed in the May elections. He will then face off against Democrat Marion Mayor Scott Schertzer.

Chief Justice
Democrat Justice Jennifer Brunner will run against Republican Justice Sharon Kennedy.

Two Republicans and two Democrats are running for three Ohio Supreme Court justice seats.

Republican Pat DeWine, Republican Pat Fischer , Democrat Terri Jamison and Democrat Marilyn Zayas will be on the ballot.

Republican Auditor Keith Faber will run unopposed. He will eventually face off against Democrat Nelsonville City Auditor Taylor Sappington, who is also running unopposed.