Archbishop Hoban elevates themselves to another state title

Posted at 10:38 AM, Nov 30, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-30 10:38:07-05

No. 1 Akron Archbishop Hoban won its fourth straight state title Thursday night against Massillon Washington, 42-28.

Hoban joins Newark Catholic (1984-87), Cleveland St. Ignatius (1991-95), Maria Stein Marion Local (2011-14) and Coldwater (2012-15) as the only schools to win four consecutive state titles.

“It’s an amazing thing isn’t it,” Coach Tim Tyrell told the Akron Beacon Journal. “I can’t say enough about them. They’ve done everything they can possibly do. These kids won every single championship every single year. I’m just truly blessed.”