Cleveland Indians legend Sandy Alomar Jr. to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted at 1:11 PM, Jan 22, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-22 13:11:15-05

CLEVELAND — Former Cleveland Indians catcher and current first base coach Sandy Alomar Jr. will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award—joining an award class among another notable athletes and other public figures such as Jim Brown, Bob Feller and Austin Carr.

Having spent 11 seasons with the Indians, Alomar was a favorite among fans. He was a six-time All-Star selection and became the 33rd player to be inducted into the Cleveland Indians Hall of Fame in 2009.

Even as a rookie, Alomar rose from the ranks after getting called up from the minors with the San Diego Padres in 1989.

When he was traded to the Indians in 1990, he was named American League Rookie of the Year and received the Rawlings Glove Award during his rookie year.

In 1997, Alomar had his best season. When the team earned a World Series spot, he hit .324 with 37 doubles, 21 home runs and 83 RBIs in 125 games.

Alomar is in his ninth coaching season with the Indians. He has also served as interim manager for the final six games of the 2012 season.

When he isn't on the diamond, Alomar is an avid cyclist and supportive of local, community-driven fundraising events that support cancer research.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a person who has dedicated their life to the advancement of sports in Cleveland.

Past recipients include:
2002 – Jim Brown, former running back, Cleveland Browns
2003 – Mark H. McCormack, Founder, International Management Group (IMG)
2004 – Bob Feller, former pitcher, Cleveland Indians
2005 – Richard Jacobs, former owner, Cleveland Indians
2006 – Herb Score, former pitcher and announcer, Cleveland Indians
2007 – Joe Tait, former broadcaster, Cleveland Cavaliers
2008 – Chuck Kyle, Head Football Coach, St. Ignatius High School
2009 – Bob Kain, former CEO, IMG
2010 – Dr. John A. Bergfeld. M.D., Senior Orthopedic Surgeon & team physician, Cleveland Clinic
2011 – Reggie Rucker, former wide receiver, Cleveland Browns
2012 – Austin Carr, former guard & current broadcaster, Cleveland Cavaliers
2013 – Bernie Kosar, former quarterback, Cleveland Browns
2014 – Tom Hamilton, sportscaster & announcer, Cleveland Indians
2015 – Jim Donovan, radio & TV personality, WKYC and Cleveland Browns
2016 – Mike Hargrove, former first baseman and manager, Cleveland Indians
2017 – Zydrunas Ilgauskas, former center, Cleveland Cavaliers
2018 – Sandy Alomar Jr., coach and former catcher, Cleveland Indians

The award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, Feb. 6 at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel in downtown Cleveland. Tickets and tables for the sports awards can be bought here.