Former Indian Nick Swisher lands on Hall of Fame ballot, joining Omar Vizquel, Manny Ramírez

Nick Swisher Indians
Posted at 3:30 PM, Nov 16, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-16 15:30:12-05

CLEVELAND — The Baseball Writers' Association of America Hall of Fame ballots have been announced and Indians fans are sure to recognize several names from Cleveland’s past.

For the first time, former Indians’ Nick Swisher has found himself on the Hall of Fame ballot.

Swisher played for the Tribe from 2013 to 2015. During his 12 year career Swisher also played for the New York Yankees, Oakland A’s, Atlanta Braves and the Chicago White Sox. Although he didn’t see much success in Cleveland, Swisher was named to the American All-Star Game in 2010 and was a member of the 2009 World Series Champion Yankees. He appeared in 12 postseason series over seven seasons hitting .165 with four homers, eight RBI and 16 runs scored in 47 games.

While it is unlikely Swisher has a large number of votes, he can stay on the ballot for 10 years providing he is not elected and he’s named on at least 5% of all ballots cast each year, which is also unlikely to happen.

Returning to the ballot are Indians stars Omar Vizquel and Manny Ramírez, who are on their fourth and fifth year listed, respectively.

Many Ramirez Omar Vizquel
Cleveland Indians Manny Ramirez, right, gets a high five from teammate Omar Vizquel, left. (AP Photo/Nick Wass)

Last year, Vizquel had 52.6% of the votes, increasing from 48.2% of the votes in 2018.

Vizquel played for the Indians for 11 seasons, from 1994 to 2004. In that time he recorded 906 runs, 584 RBIs, 60 home runs and a .283 batting average. He is one of the greatest shortstops in Indians' history, winning eight of his 11 Gold Glove Awards in Cleveland. He also played in three All-Star Games while with the Indians.

Last year, Ramírez collected 28.2% of the vote, up from the 22.8% he recorded in 2018.

Ramírez was with the Tribe for eight seasons, from 1993 to 2000. He recorded 665 runs, 804 RBIs, 236 home runs and a .313 batting average. He won three Silver Slugger Awards and played in four All-Star Games in his time with the Indians.

Both Vizquel and Ramírez were on the team during its 1995 and 1997 World Series appearances.

Jeff Kent, who had a short stint with the Indians, is on the ballot for the eighth year. The Indians received Kent in 1996 in a trade with the Mets. He was traded after the 1996 season to the Giants.

For a player to make the Hall of Fame, they must appear on 75% of submitted ballots, selected by eligible voters from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The 2021 Hall of Fame results will be announced live from Cooperstown on MLB Network on Jan. 26.

The Class of 2020—which includes Derek Jeter, Marvin Miller, Ted Simmons, and Larry Walker—will also be inducted on Jan. 26 after the ceremony was canceled due to COVID-19.