Several former Indians named to the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot

Many Ramirez Omar Vizquel
Posted at 3:07 PM, Nov 18, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-18 15:12:04-05

CLEVELAND — Cleveland legends Omar Vizquel and Manny Ramírez are among several former Indians players named on the 2020 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot.

Both Vizquel and Ramírez are no strangers to the ballot, having made the ballot before.

Vizquel has had increasing popularity in the ballot votes since his first time making the list. In his first year of eligibility, Vizquel recorded 37 percent of the vote total while last year he collected 182 votes, jumping to 42.8 percent.

Last year, Ramírez recorded 97 votes with 22.8 percent of the total.

Vizquel played for the Indians for 11 seasons, from 1994 to 2004. In that time he recorded 906 runs, 584 RBIs, 60 home runs and a .283 batting average. He is one of the greatest shortstops in Indians' history, winning eight of his 11 Gold Glove Awards in Cleveland. He also played in three All-Star Games while with the Indians.

Ramírez was with the Tribe for eight seasons, from 1993 to 2000. He recorded 665 runs, 804 RBIs, 236 home runs and a .313 batting average. He won three Silver Slugger Awards and played in four All-Star Games in his time with the Indians.

Both Vizquel and Ramírez were on the team during its 1995 and 1997 World Series appearances.

Jason Giambi, Jeff Kent and Cliff Lee who all played for the Indians, made the ballot as well.

During his eight years in Cleveland, Lee won the 2008 AL pitching title, was named to the All-Star team and won a Cy Young Award.

The Indians received Kent in 1996 in a trade with the Mets. He was traded after the 1996 season to the Giants.

Giambi was with the Tribe for two seasons, from 2013-2014. The veteran slugger announced his retirement in 2015.

For any of the former Indians to make the Hall of Fame, they must appear on 75 percent of submitted ballots, selected by eligible voters from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The winners will be announced on Jan. 21 and the 2020 induction ceremony will be held on July 26 in Cooperstown.

Here are the players that have been listed on the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot:

Bobby Abreu, Josh Beckett, Heath Bell, Barry Bonds, Eric Chávez, Roger Clemens, Adam Dunn, Chone Figgins, Rafael Furcal, Jason Giambi, Todd Helton, Raúl Ibañez, Derek Jeter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Paul Konerko, Cliff Lee, Carlos Peña, Brad Penny, Andy Pettitte, J.J. Putz, Manny Ramírez, Brian Roberts, Scott Rolen, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Alfonso Soriano, Sammy Sosa, José Valverde, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, Larry Walker.