Browns' beloved bullmastiff mascot Swagger to retire, pass down duties to son SJ

Browns Swagger
Posted at 4:10 PM, Oct 11, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-11 21:50:24-04

CLEVELAND — After more than five seasons with the team, Cleveland Browns' beloved mascot Swagger is set to retire after Sunday’s game against the Seattle Seahawks, according to the team.

Swagger, the 6-year-old bullmastiff, joined the Browns in 2014, has been running through the tunnel ahead of every home game since.

The only game he missed was a match-up against the Vikings in 2017, with the teams playing in London. His British Cousin Otto filled in for him.

While it’s disappointing to see Swagger retire, there is good news — Swagger will be handing his mascot duties down to another member of the family.

The Browns announced that SJ, Swagger's 11-month-old son, will take over all of his dad's duties starting on Nov. 10.

SJ will follow in Swagger's paw prints and run through the tunnel before the home games at FirstEnergy Stadium as well as make regular appearances on Dawg Pound Drive and at events around the community, according to the Browns.

Swagger will make his final run through the tunnel at FirstEnergy Stadium Sunday, where he will serve as the Dawg Pound Captain, the Browns announced.

“Between his event appearances, pregame duties on Dawg Pound Drive and his running out of the home team tunnel on game days, he’s been the utmost professional through his years of service,” said Carlos Oseguera, Browns Senior Director, Fan Experience & Special Events. “We wish Swagger a happy retirement and know that SJ will carry on the family tradition beginning November 10.”

With his new free time, Swagger will be able to eat all the fried Raven and chew up all of the Terrible Towels his heart desires.

Click here for your one-stop resource guide



WEEK 1 · Aug. 13-17 · TBD at Chicago Bears

WEEK 2 · Aug. 20-24 · TBD at Green Bay Packers

WEEK 3 · Aug. 30 · 4 PM EST Minnesota Vikings

WEEK 4 · Sep. 3-4 · TBD Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Regular Season

WEEK 1 · Sun 9/13 · 1:00 PM EST at Baltimore Ravens (CBS)

WEEK 2 · Thu 9/17 · 8:20 PM EST Cincinnati Bengals (NFL Network)

WEEK 3 · Sun 9/27 · 1:00 PM EST Washington Redskins (FOX)

WEEK 4 · Sun 10/4 · 1:00 PM EST at Dallas Cowboys (FOX)

WEEK 5 · Sun 10/11 · 4:25 PM EST Indianapolis Colts (CBS)

WEEK 6 · Sun 10/18 · 1:00 PM EST at Pittsburgh Steelers (CBS)

WEEK 7 · Sun 10/25 · 1:00 PM EST at Cincinnati Bengals (CBS)

WEEK 8 · Sun 11/1 · 1:00 PM EST Las Vegas Raiders (FOX)


WEEK 10 · Sun 11/15 · 1:00 PM EST Houston Texans (FOX)

WEEK 11 · Sun 11/22 · 1:00 PM EST Philadelphia Eagles (FOX)

WEEK 12 · Sun 11/29 · 1:00 PM EST at Jacksonville Jaguars (CBS)

WEEK 13 · Sun 12/6 · 1:00 PM EST at Tennessee Titans (CBS)

WEEK 14 · Mon 12/14 · 8:15 PM EST Baltimore Ravens (ESPN)

WEEK 15 · Sun 12/20 · 1:00 PM EST at New York Giants (CBS)

WEEK 16 · Dec. 27-27 · TBD at New York Jets

WEEK 17 · Sun 1/3 · 1:00 PM EST Pittsburgh Steelers (CBS)