SportsBrowns News


Browns DE Myles Garrett nominated for 2020 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

Will receive donation to charity of his choice
Myles Garrett
Posted at 10:39 AM, Dec 10, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-10 11:53:48-05

CLEVELAND — Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett has been named the team’s nominee for the 2020 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, given to recognize NFL players for the performance on the field and their dedication to the community.

Garrett joins 31 other nominees, one from each team, in being nominated for the award. For his nomination, Garrett will receive a $40,000 donation in his name to the charity of his choice.

The winner of the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, which will be announced during NFL Honors airing the week of Super Bowl LV, will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

Garrett was nominated for the award for his strong performance on the field and his generous contributions to the community off the field.

The defensive end is currently tied for third in the league with 10.5 sacks, despite missing two games while on the reserve/COVID-19 list, and is the first Browns player to record at least 10 sacks in three consecutive seasons since stats became an official statistic in 1982.

Garrett is also tied for second in the NFL with four forced fumbles, which all occurred on strip-sacks that helped lead the Browns to victories and to their 9-3 record.

In addition to his impressive defensive performances each week, Garrett also is a leader of his team and actively gives back to the community.

Garrett is a member of the Browns’ social justice committee and has personally reached out to victims, and families of victims, of police brutality to raise awareness—even covering funeral costs for David McAtee, a barbecue restaurant owner who was shot and killed by law enforcement in Kentucky.

Garrett was named the active player captain for Waterboys in 2019, an organization that aims to bring clean water to communities in East Africa. Garrett made a two-week trip earlier this year to Tanzania to help install wells and provide access to water.

In Cleveland, Garrett has teamed up with Cleveland Hope Exchange and local businesses, providing more than 24,000 pounds of food and other resources to those in need as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

"Obviously well deserved. The work he does in the community, particularly with the Waterboys initiative, is outstanding so congratulations to Myles," said head coach Kevin Stefanski.

Garrett will be formally presented with the nomination award Monday night before the start of the game against the Ravens at FirstEnergy Stadium.

The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award has been given annually since 1970. Past Browns nominees since 1999 include Kelly Holcomb, Trent Dilfer, Charlie Frye, Phil Dawson, Joe Thomas, Christian Kirksey and Jarvis Landry, among others.

Fans can help Garrett give back to the community by voting on Twitter using the hashtag #WPMOYChallengeGarrett. The player whose personalized hashtag is used the most from Dec. 10 to Jan. 17 will receive a $25,0000 contribution to the charity of their choosing. The player with the second most votes will receive $10,000 for charity and the player with the third most votes will receive $5,000 for charity.

Each Monday, the league is also rewarding fans. Those who respond on Twitter each week with their favorite nominee will be eligible to be randomly selected to win a $100 NFL Shop gift card, as well as a $2,500 donation to their favorite nominee's charity.

RELATED: Baker Mayfield wins Fedex Air NFL Player of the Week for game against Titans