SportsBrowns News


Browns RB Nick Chubb nominated for 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Nick Chubb
Posted at 5:23 PM, Dec 03, 2020

CLEVELAND — For the second year in a row, Cleveland Browns running back Nick Chubb will be representing his team as the nominee for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The award has been presented each year since 2014 to an NFL player who “best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship.”

Qualities of sportsmanship include fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Chubb, a clear candidate for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, is about as sportsmanlike as they come, avoiding celebration, working hard at his craft, battling through injury and putting it all on the field each week.

“I’m not really one to celebrate until the game is over and we win. That is when I will celebrate. Until then, it is all about trying to get the next play down and get a win,” Chubb said after Sunday’s win over the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Fans know his selflessness. He could have experienced the personal joy of a 60-yard touchdown against the Houston Texans, but he put the team first and stepped out just one yard shy of the end zone, allowing the Browns to run the clock out and seal the win without having to risk injuries or a last-second comeback—a true testament to his sportsmanship and teamwork.

A panel of former players—Warrick Dunn, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler—will narrow the 32 total nominees down to eight finalists, four from the AFC and four from the NFC.

Those eight finalists will then be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot for current players to vote on. The voting will be held on Dec. 18.

Teams are not permitted to vote on their own player, according to the NFL.

Announced as part of NFL Honors, the winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of their choice.

Chubb joins 31 other players, one from each team, as nominees for the award. Here are the nominees for each team:

Arizona CardinalsS Budda Baker
Atlanta FalconsC Alex Mack
Baltimore RavensDE Calais Campbell
Buffalo BillsCB Tre'Davious White
Carolina PanthersQB Teddy Bridgewater
Chicago BearsLB Khalil Mack
Cincinnati BengalsLB Josh Bynes
Cleveland BrownsRB Nick Chubb
Dallas CowboysRB Ezekiel Elliott
Denver BroncosCB Bryce Callahan
Detroit LionsC Frank Ragnow
Green Bay PackersQB Aaron Rodgers
Houston TexansDT Brandon Dunn
Indianapolis ColtsDE Justin Houston
Jacksonville JaguarsDE Josh Allen
Kansas City ChiefsQB Patrick Mahomes
Las Vegas RaidersQB Derek Carr
Los Angeles ChargersDE Joey Bosa
Los Angeles RamsS John Johnson
Miami DolphinsLB Kyle Van Noy
Minnesota VikingsTE Kyle Rudolph
New England PatriotsWR Matthew Slater
New Orleans SaintsT Ryan Ramczyk
New York GiantsDB Logan Ryan
New York JetsDL Folorunso Fatukasi
Philadelphia EaglesC Jason Kelce
Pittsburgh SteelersDT Cameron Heyward
San Francisco 49ersFB Kyle Juszczyk
Seattle SeahawksLB K.J. Wright
Tampa Bay BuccaneersLB Lavonte David
Tennessee TitansQB Ryan Tannehill
Washington Football TeamWR Terry McLaurin

RELATED: Nick Chubb and Kareem Hunt have become a truly dynamic duo for the Browns