SportsBrowns News


Myles Garrett named 'Joe Thomas Award' Player of the Year, Larry Ogunjobi earns 'Good Guy Award'

Myles Garrett Larry Ogunjobi
Posted at 12:24 PM, Dec 30, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-30 12:24:57-05

CLEVELAND — Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett and defensive tackle Larry Ogunjobi each earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America for the 2020 season.

Garrett was named the Joe Thomas Award- Player of the Year award winner by the PFWA. Garrett joins Nick Chubb, Baker Mayfield, Duke Johnson Jr. and Joe Thomas as some of the past recipients of the award.

The Pro Bowl starter has appeared in 13 games this season and has recorded 44 tackles, 12 sacks and four forced fumbles with two fumble recoveries.

Even though he missed two games after contracting COVID-19 and being placed on the reserve/COVID-19 list, Garrett’s sack total is tied for sixth in the league and tied for fourth-most by a Cleveland Brown in a season.

Garrett set a Browns record earlier in the season when he recorded at least one sack in six consecutive games and was named the AFC Defensive Player of the Week in Week 4. He was later named the AFC Defensive Player of the Month for October.

The Browns named Garrett the team’s 2020 Walter Payton Man Of The Year nominee as well this season.

Ogunjobi earned an award of his own, being named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli “Good Guy Award” winner.

The award is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and the way he carries himself within the community and with his teammates.

Ogunjobi is no stranger to helping the community. In March, he donated 100,000 meals to the Greater Cleveland Food Bank to help children in need during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ogunjobi has started 14 games this season and recorded 44 tackles, 2.5 sacks and one forced fumble.

Past recipients of the Good Guy Award include Sheldon Richardson, Joel Bitonio, Christian Kirkesy, Josh McCown, Bran Hoyer and Joe Thomas.