SportsCollege SportsOhio State


4 Ohio State players named finalists for national awards

Ohio State Buckeyes football
Posted at 5:37 PM, Nov 25, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-25 17:42:40-05

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Four Ohio State football players have been named finalists for major national awards that will be presented in December.

Twice nominated

Chase Young

Defensive end Chase Young is having an incredible season and it hasn’t gone without notice. Nominated for both the Bednarik Award and the Maxwell Award, Young has the chance to walk away with more than one piece of hardware in December.

The Bednarik Award is presented annually to the best defensive player in college football.

The Maxwell Award is one of the most prestigious awards to be handed out. It is presented annually to the best all-around college football player, voted on by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, NCAA head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club.

It’s no surprise that Young has been nominated for two awards with the season he’s had so far. Young leads the nation in quarterback sacks with 16.5 and a loss of 117 yards, has 19.5 tackles-for-loss and six forced fumbles. The defensive end has recorded a sack in 11 consecutive games. If he wins, Young would be the first Buckeye to ever win the Bednarik Award.

Doak Walker Award

J.K. Dobbins
Ohio State running back J.K. Dobbins (2) rushes against Rutgers during the first half of an NCAA college football game Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, in Piscataway, N.J. Ohio State won 56-21. (AP Photo/Adam Hunger)

Running back J.K. Dobbins was named a finalist for the Doak Walker award, which is presented annually to the best running back in college football. Dobbins, a junior, is currently ranked No. 4 in rushing yards (1,446), No. 5 in rushing yards per game (131.5), and No. 7 in rushing touchdowns (15).

Dobbins made school history this season, becoming the first player in program history to rush for 1,000 yards as a freshman, sophomore and junior.

Davey O’Brien Award

Justin Fields
Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields plays against Penn State during an NCAA college football game Saturday, Nov. 23, 2019, in Columbus, Ohio. (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)

Quarterback Justin Fields was named a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award, which is presented annually to the best quarterback in college football. Fields has thrown 33 touchdown passes this season, only recording one interception in that same span. He has recorded at least four touchdowns in eight of Ohio State’s 11 games played.

The last time a Buckeye won the Davey O’Brien Award was in 2006 when Troy Smith was presented the prestigious award.

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Jeff Okudah
Ohio State defensive back Jeff Okudah plays against Florida Atlantic in an NCAA college football game Saturday, Aug. 31, 2019, in Columbus, Ohio. (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)

Cornerback Jeff Okudah was named finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is presented to the best defensive back in college football. Okudah has recorded 25 tackles, 20 of which are solo. He’s also recorded three interceptions, four pass breakups and two forced fumbles.

Only two other Buckeyes have won the Jim Thorpe Award, Malcom Jenkins in 2008 and Antoine Winfield in 1998.

All four players will attend the Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12 in Atlanta, Georgia.

The awards will air on ESPN.