SportsCollege SportsOhio State


The Ohio State Buckeyes selected for College Football Playoffs, will face Clemson in Sugar Bowl

Big Ten Championship Football Ohio State
Posted at 3:46 PM, Dec 20, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-20 15:46:51-05

COLUMBUS, Ohio — After notching the program’s fourth consecutive Big Ten Conference title, The Ohio State Buckeyes are headed to the College Football Playoff.

The Buckeyes will face the Clemson Tigers in this year’s Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Ohio State has played in the Sugar Bowl five times before and has faced Clemson five times as well, with the last meeting between the two teams in a bowl game happening last year in the Fiesta Bowl.

Clemson claimed the ACC title with their 34-10 win over the Notre Dame Fighting Irish Saturday.

The No. 3 Buckeyes enter the CFP unbeaten with a 6-0 record while the No. 2 Tigers enter 10-1.

Ohio State was selected for the CFP despite playing in five fewer games than other semifinalists. Three of the Buckeyes’ games were canceled due to COVID-19.

No. 1 Alabama and No. 4 Notre Dame were also selected for the CFP and will play each other in the Rose Bowl.

ESPN will air the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 1 at 8 p.m.

RELATED: No. 3 Ohio St. runs past No. 15 Wildcats for Big Ten crown