WeatherWeather News


Flash Flood Warning, Flood Advisories issued in Northeast Ohio

Posted at 7:16 PM, May 25, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-25 21:04:00-04

The National Weather Service has issued a flash flood warning in northwestern Summit County and a flood advisory for northwestern Portage, central Summit and southwestern Geauga counties.

Flood warnings
NWS showing locations of the flood advisories (green) and flash flood warning (red)

Doppler radar indicated heavy rain due to thunderstorms, causing minor flooding in the flood advisory areas. Up to an inch and a half of rain has already fallen. Flooding of small creeks, streams, urban areas, highways, streets, and underpasses is possible, as well as in drainage and low-lying areas.

Up to two inches of rain has fallen in northwestern Summit County, with another half-inch to inch expected, the NWS states.

The NWS states areas that will experience flooding in Portage and Geauga counties include: Streetsboro, Mantua, Aurora, Hiram and Bainbridge. In Summit County: Akron, Cuyahoga Falls, Barberton, Hudson, Tallmadge, Macedonia, Mogadore, Stow, Brecksville, Norton, Fairlawn, Munroe Falls, Richfield, Lakemore, Silver Lake, Boston Heights, Peninsula, Portage Lakes and Montrose-Ghent.

Areas that may be impacted by the Flash Flood Warning include: Cuyahoga Falls, Hudson, Macedonia, Broadview Heights, Brecksville, Richfield, Boston Heights and Peninsula.

“Turn around, don't drown when encountering flooded roads,” the NWS states. “Most flood deaths occur in vehicles.”

The NWS asks that residents report flooding to local law enforcement when it is safe to do so.