WeatherWeather News


Flash Flood Warning issued for multiple Northeast Ohio counties

Posted at 4:40 PM, Jun 05, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-05 18:09:38-04

CLEVELAND — A Flash Flood Warning has been issued for multiple counties in Northeast Ohio.

Portage, Geauga, Cuyahoga, Medina, Summit and Lorain counties are under the warning until 10:30 p.m.

In the NWS map above, the areas in dark red are under a Flash Flood Warning. The areas in pink are under a Severe Thunderstorm Watch. The areas in light green are under a Flood Warning.

Some locations that could experience flooding are Cleveland, Akron, Lorain, Elyria, Medina, Ravenna, Vermilion, Chardon, Parma, Lakewood, Cuyahoga Falls, Cleveland Heights, Strongsville, Brunswick, Westlake, North Royalton, North Ridgeville, Kent, Solon and Avon Lake.

According to the NWS: "At 4:33 PM EDT, Doppler radar indicated thunderstorms producing heavy rain across the warned area. More thunderstorms from the Cleveland area will move into Trumbull County by 5:30PM and produce additional rain. Up to two inches of rain have already fallen and another 2 inches may fall by 7 PM. Flash flooding is expected to begin shortly."