CoronavirusLocal Coronavirus News


Only 5 states listed on Ohio's most recent travel advisory map

Ohio Travel Advisory Map 2/25/2`1
Posted at 9:26 AM, Feb 25, 2021
and last updated 2021-02-25 09:26:56-05

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Updated on Wednesday, Ohio's COVID-19 Travel Advisory Map has just five states flagged for high positivity rates, created to help inform Ohioans where to avoid traveling to reduce spread of the virus.

On the updated map the following states have been flagged and have a positivity rate of 15% or higher:

  • South Dakota- 22.3%
  • Kansas- 22.1%
  • Alabama- 22%
  • Iowa- 21%
  • Idaho- 21%

Individuals traveling to Ohio from the aforementioned states are advised to quarantine for 14 days.

The state's travel advisories are intended for both leisure and business travel and are meant for Ohioans and out-of-state travelers.

While the state encourages the self-quarantine for those traveling from states with higher than 15% positivity rates, the advisories are guidance, not mandates and the decision to self-quarantine is left to individuals.

This advisory is intended for both leisure and business travel, and should be heeded by both Ohioans and out-of-state travelers. It is intended as guidance and is not a mandate—please consider the information here along with other factors (mode of transportation, lodging, activities, ability to social distance when traveling, personal health factors, etc.) when making travel decisions for yourself and your family.

The state also noted that Kentucky and Mississippi have experienced reporting irregularities in the total number of tests performed this week and are shaded gray on the map as a result, making it impossible for Ohio officials to calculate the positivty rate of the virus.