Delayed ballots in 16 counties are now in the mail, Secretary of State Frank LaRose says

Election 2020 Ohio
Posted at 7:56 AM, Oct 20, 2020
and last updated 2020-10-20 07:56:09-04

COLUMBUS, Ohio — In an update to Ohio voters Monday, Secretary of State Frank LaRose said absentee ballots in more than a dozen counties that experienced delays are now in the mail.

Northeast Ohio-based vendor Midwest Direct was contracted by 16 counties to print and mail the absentee ballots.

“It’s really unfortunate and truly unacceptable that this vendor has over promised and under delivered as it related to getting ballots out as quickly as they should,” LaRose said.

The 16 counties affected by the delay are:

  • Butler
  • Clinton
  • Cuyahoga
  • Defiance
  • Fulton
  • Henry
  • Lorain
  • Lucas
  • Mahoning
  • Miami
  • Stark
  • Summit
  • Trumbull
  • Union
  • Williams
  • Wood

Nine of the 16 impacted counties discontinued working with the printing vendor and decided to begin processing the ballot requests in-house and mailing them out from their own board of elections.

As of Monday night, Midwest Direct told LaRose that all requested ballots have been mailed out to voters.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot is Oct. 31 at noon.

RELATED:Company that fell behind on mailing ballots draws national attention for flying Trump flag