NewsLocal NewsCleveland Metro


Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces 2021 ceremony date, new venue

Ceremony to be held at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse
Rock Hall.jpg
Posted at 8:09 AM, Feb 10, 2021
and last updated 2021-03-02 11:59:52-05

CLEVELAND — The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony has been set for Oct. 30, 2021 and will be held at the Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland.

"The recently transformed FieldHouse provides a new and truly world-class venue that prioritizes health and safety and offers increased space and flexibility to host the Induction Ceremony in Cleveland as part of a multi-year partnership," the Rock Hall said.

The nominees were announced last month.

“This remarkable ballot reflects the diversity and depth of the artists and music the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame celebrates,” said John Sykes, Chairman, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, in a statement. “These Nominees have left an indelible impact on the sonic landscape of the world and influenced countless artists that have followed them.”

The nominees are:

  • LL Cool J
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Fela Kuti
  • Kate Bush
  • New York Dolls
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Foo Fighters
  • Tina Turner
  • Carole King
  • The Go-Go’s
  • Mary J. Blige
  • Jay-Z
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Devo
  • Chaka Khan
  • Iron Maiden

The Rock Hall said seven out of 16 of the nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, Iron Maiden, JAY-Z, Carole King (as a performer), Fela Kuti, and Dionne Warwick. Chaka Khan was previously nominated both solo and with the band Rufus.

Cast your ballot here. You can select up to five nominees daily and submit your vote. Voting is now open until April 30.
Nominee ballots are sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians, and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

Inductees will be announced in May 2021. The 2021 Induction Ceremony will take place in Cleveland this fall. Details and ticket on-sale information will be announced later, the Rock Hall said.

To be eligible for inclusion in the Rock Hall an individual or artist must have released its first commercial recording 25 years prior to the year of the induction, so 2020 nominees had to have released their first recording no later than 1994.

Nearly 900 individual artists have been inducted over the past 34 years.