2 Northeast Ohio natives named finalists for NFL sportsmanship award

Browns running back Nick Chubb misses cut
Jason Kelce/Kyle Juszczyk
Posted at 10:49 AM, Dec 16, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-16 10:49:22-05

CLEVELAND — The National Football League announced the finalists for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award on Tuesday, and while Browns nominee Nick Chubb didn’t make the cut, some Northeast Ohio natives did.

Chubb was not among the eight finalists for the award, which has been presented each year since 2014 to an NFL player who “best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship.” Qualities of sportsmanship include fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

While it’s unfortunate Chubb will not receive the award for the second straight year, he’s a winner in the hearts of Browns fans everywhere.

That said, someone from Northeast Ohio still might bring home the award.

Cleveland Heights native Jason Kelce, a center on the Philadelphia Eagles, and Medina native Kyle Juszczyk, a fullback on the San Francisco 49ers, were both named finalists for the sportsmanship award.

Kelce and Juszczyk were selected, along with six others, by a panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community—Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The Northeast Ohio natives will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot and voted on by current NFL players.

Kelce and Juszczyk are both first-time nominees for the award.

Announced as part of NFL Honors, the winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of their choice.

Here is the list of the eight finalists for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award:

QB Teddy BridgewaterCarolina PanthersNFC
DE Calais CampbellBaltimore RavensAFC
LB Lavonte DavidTampa Bay BuccaneersNFC
DT Cameron HeywardPittsburgh SteelersAFC
DE Justin HoustonIndianapolis ColtsAFC
FB Kyle JuszczykSan Francisco 49ersNFC
C Jason KelcePhiladelphia EaglesNFC
WR Matthew SlaterNew England PatriotsAFC

RELATED: Browns RB Nick Chubb nominated for 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award