SportsBrowns News


Mayfield, Chubb lose fan-voted Rookie of the Year

Posted at 5:55 PM, Jan 31, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-31 17:55:57-05

CLEVELAND — Pepsi has announced who won Rookie of the Year, and it's not one of the two Browns players nominated.

New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley won the coveted award.

Baker Mayfield and Nick Chubb were both nominated.

The fans were the ones who voted for this award.

Mayfield won Rookie of the Week seven times this season, while Chubb won it twice.

There is still a chance for Mayfield or Chubb to win the big one - the Associated Press Rookie of the Year. The winner of that award will be announced Saturday night at NFL Honors. No Browns player has won the Associated Press Rookie of the Year award since Jim Brown won the year it was created in 1957.