'The game lost a giant today,' former Browns coach and Hall of Famer Forrest Gregg dies at 85

Posted: 10:51 AM, Apr 12, 2019
Updated: 2019-04-12 21:07:39-04
Forrest Gregg.jpg

CANTON, Ohio — Pro Football Hall of Famer and former Browns coach Forrest Gregg died Friday morning at the age of 85.

Gregg coached the Browns from 1975 to 1977 following a spectacular career as a player who was named All-NFL eight seasons in a row and player in nine Pro Bowls. He played on six NFL/NFC championship teams three Super Bowl winners.

According to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Gregg was elected to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1960s as well as the NFL’s 75th Anniversary All-Time Team.

The was added to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1977.

After he was done coaching the Browns, Gregg moved on to the Cincinnati Bengals and in 1981, led the team to its first Super Bowl.

In 1984, Gregg left the Bengals to coach the Green Bay Packers.

Pro Football Hall of Fame President and CEO David Baker issued the following statement about Gregg Friday:

“The Game lost a giant today. Forrest Gregg exemplified greatness during a legendary career that earned him a Bronzed Bust in Canton. He was the type of player who led by example and, in doing so, raised the level of play of all those around him. Forrest symbolized many great traits and virtues that can be learned from this Game to inspire people from all walks of life.

"Our heartfelt condolences go to Forrest’s wife Barb and the entire Gregg family. We hope that they find comfort in knowing that his great legacy will live forever at the Pro Football Hall of Fame.”

The Hall of Fame will honor Gregg by flying its flags at half-staff until he is laid to rest.

You can read the Gregg's obituary here. More information about Gregg's stellar career can be found here.




WEEK 1 · Thu 08/08 · Browns 30, Redskins 10

WEEK 2 · Sat 08/17 · Browns 21, Colts 18

WEEK 3 · Fri 08/23 · 7:30 PM EDT at Tampa Bay Buccaneers (News 5)

WEEK 4 · Thu 08/29 · 7:30 PM EDT Detroit Lions (News 5)

Regular Season

WEEK 1 · Sun 09/08 · 1:00 PM EDT Tennessee Titans (CBS)

WEEK 2 · Mon 09/16 · 8:15 PM EDT at New York Jets (ESPN)

WEEK 3 · Sun 09/22 · 8:20 PM EDT Los Angeles Rams (NBC)

WEEK 4 · Sun 09/29 · 1:00 PM EDT at Baltimore Ravens (CBS)

WEEK 5 · Mon 10/07 · 8:15 PM EDT at San Francisco 49ers (ESPN)

WEEK 6 · Sun 10/13 · 1:00 PM EDT Seattle Seahawks (Fox)

WEEK 7 Bye

WEEK 8 · Sun 10/27 · 4:25 PM EDT at New England Patriots (CBS)

WEEK 9 · Sun 11/03 · 4:25 PM EST at Denver Broncos (CBS)

WEEK 10 · Sun 11/10 · 1:00 PM EST Buffalo Bills (CBS)

WEEK 11 · Thu 11/14 · 8:20 PM EST Pittsburgh Steelers (Fox, NFL Network, Amazon)

WEEK 12 · Sun 11/24 · 1:00 PM EST Miami Dolphins (CBS)

WEEK 13 · Sun 12/01 · 4:25 PM EST at Pittsburgh Steelers (CBS)

WEEK 14 · Sun 12/08 · 1:00 PM EST Cincinnati Bengals (CBS)

WEEK 15 · Sun 12/15 · 4:05 PM EST at Arizona Cardinals (CBS)

WEEK 16 · Sun 12/22 · 1:00 PM EST Baltimore Ravens (CBS)

WEEK 17 · Sun 12/29 · 1:00 PM EST at Cincinnati Bengals (CBS)