WeatherWeather News


Freeze Warning issued for multiple Northeast Ohio counties

mapserver (1).png
Posted at 12:21 PM, Apr 28, 2022

The National Weather Service has issued a Freeze Warning that will be in effect from 10 p.m. Thursday to 9 a.m. Friday for all of Northeast Ohio.

The Freeze Warning has been issued for the following counties:

  • Ashland
  • Ashtabula
  • Cuyahoga
  • Erie
  • Geauga
  • Huron
  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Mahoning
  • Medina
  • Portage
  • Richland
  • Stark
  • Summit
  • Trumbull
  • Wayne

"Temperatures will remain near or above freezing along the immediate lakeshore. The coldest temperatures will occur in interior portions of Northeast Ohio east of I-77, where lows as cold as the mid 20s are possible," the NWS said.

What to expect

According to the NWS, sub-freezing temperatures are expected Thursday night. The cold can kill or damage outdoor plants and break unprotected outdoor plumbing.

"To prevent freezing and possible bursting of outdoor water pipes they should be wrapped, drained, or allowed to drip slowly. Those that have in-ground sprinkler systems should drain them and cover above ground pipes to protect them from freezing," the NWS said.

Here are some tips from a local plumber you can do to protect your home during the freeze:

Plumber offers advice to avoid frozen pipes during deep freeze

Read more here: Plumber offers advice to avoid frozen pipes during deep freeze

Want the latest Power of 5 weather team updates wherever you go? Download the News 5 App free now: Apple|Android

Download the StormShield app for weather alerts on your iOS and Android device: Apple|Android

Click here to view our interactive radar.

Read and watch the latest Power of 5 forecast here.

Follow the News 5 Weather Team:

Mark Johnson: Facebook & Twitter

Remeisha Shade: Facebook & Twitter

Trent Magill: Facebook & Twitter

Katie McGraw: Facebook & Twitter