WeatherWeather News


Freeze Warning issued for several counties across northern Ohio

Posted at 3:43 PM, May 09, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-09 15:43:57-04

The National Weather Service has issued a Freeze Warning for multiple counties across northern Ohio.

The following counties are under a Freeze Warning from 11 p.m. Saturday to 7 a.m. Sunday:

  • Stark
  • Medina
  • Geauga
  • Ashtabula
  • Trumbull
  • Summit
  • Portage
  • Wayne
  • Mahoning

According to the NWS, freezing temperatures below 30 degrees are expected.

The cold temperatures will kill crops and other sensitive vegetation, the NWS stated. Unprotected outdoor plumbing will also be at risk.

The NWS advises the following:

  • Take steps now to protect tender plants from the cold. To prevent freezing and possible bursting of outdoor water pipes they should be wrapped, drained, or allowed to drip slowly.
  • Those that have in-ground sprinkler systems should drain them and cover above-ground pipes to protect them from freezing.

Click here to view our interactive radar.

Read and watch the latest Power of 5 forecast here.

Download the News 5 app for more weather information from the Power of 5 weather team: Apple|Android

Download the StormShield app for weather alerts on your iOS and Android device: Apple|Android

Follow the News 5 Weather Team:

Mark Johnson: Facebook & Twitter

Bryan Shaw: Facebook & Twitter

Remeisha Shade: Facebook & Twitter

Trent Magill: Facebook & Twitter