WeatherWeather News


Winter Storm Warnings take effect at 7 p.m. across Northeast Ohio

Winter_Alerts (1).jpg
Posted at 3:41 PM, Nov 29, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-30 11:34:58-05

ERIE COUNTY, Ohio — Winter Storm Warnings will be in effect across Northeast Ohio from 7 p.m. Monday until 10 a.m. Wednesday, according to the National Weather Service.

The following counties will be under a Winter Storm Warning beginning at 7 p.m. Monday:

  • Ashtabula Inland
  • Cuyahoga
  • Erie
  • Geauga
  • Huron
  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Medina
  • Summit
Winter_Alerts (1).jpg
Map showing current weather alerts in Northeast Ohio. Current as of 6 a.m. Monday, Nov. 30, 2020.

Heavy snow, with accumulations of eight to 12 inches are expected for portions of north-central and Northeast Ohio, the NWS states. Areas in higher terrain could see up to a foot and a half of snow. Winds could gust as high as 35 mph.

Travel could be very difficult to impossible, the NWS states. The hazardous conditions could impact the morning or evening commute.

The NWS says that if you must travel, keep an extra flashlight, food and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.

A Winter Weather Advisory will be in effect in the following counties from 7 p.m. Monday to 1 a.m. Wednesday:

  • Ashland
  • Ashtabula Lakeshore
  • Holmes
  • Richland
  • Stark
  • Tuscarawas
  • Wayne

Four to six inches of snow is expected to accumulate in these areas, making travel difficult, the NWS states.

Rain will transition to snow Monday afternoon into the evening hours, and gusty wins of 30 mph will be possible. The snow will diminish from west to east during Tuesday afternoon and evening.

RELATED: Here's what we know about the snow coming this week

Click here to view our interactive radar.

Read and watch the latest Power of 5 forecast here.

Download the News 5 app for more weather information from the Power of 5 weather team: Apple|Android

Download the StormShield app for weather alerts on your iOS and Android device: Apple|Android

Follow the News 5 Weather Team:

Mark Johnson: Facebook & Twitter

Bryan Shaw: Facebook & Twitter

Remeisha Shade: Facebook & Twitter

Trent Magill: Facebook & Twitter