About Us


Reporter Jessi Schultz

Posted at 5:31 PM, Oct 16, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-16 17:31:10-04

Birthplace: I was born in Waco, Texas, but I grew up in Medina!

Education: Arizona State University - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism

Current Position/Job Duties: Reporter/ Multi-Media Journalist for Good Morning Cleveland

Previous Work Experience: MMJ in South Bend, Ind. at WSBT-TV.

Joined News 5: August of 2018

Email: Jessi.schultz@wews.com

Twitter: @Jessi_dianne

Facebook: Jessi Schultz TV

Most Memorable Stories: It wasn’t one story, but a story I followed over the course of a year. It started as an update of a cold case. A girl was murdered at 17, and her family was demanding answers. Finally, after nearly six years, an arrest was made. I followed the family through the trials and tribulations of court and all the way to sentencing. It was emotional and powerful to see their daughter finally get justice after her death, and they thanked me for never giving up on her.

News Philosophy: News is what’s hidden, the rest is PR.

Role Model: I’m inspired by strong, intelligent, and compassionate women, three of which I can call family: my mom and my two, older sisters!

Favorite Sports Teams: Cavs!

Favorite Music: I like a lot of different music… really anything that allows me to bust a move.

Favorite Movie: This is my least favorite question because there are way too many to name. I love movies!

Favorite Program: I can recite every line from "New Girl."

Favorite Book:

The Poisonwood Bible, Catcher in the Rye, Girl on the Train.

Favorite Food: PASTA!

Family: I have an extremely tight-knit family. My mom and dad live in Medina. My sisters, Meredith and Lauren, live in Chicago. I also have two protective brothers-in-law and the most handsome nephew in the world!

Pet: King Louis, a longhaired, mini, dachshund (wiener dog) I’m OBSESSED with him.

Hobbies & Interests: I grew up competitively dancing, so I’m most likely on my phone watching a dance video. I also am usually working out, reading or watching Netflix.

You're most likely to see me around town: Trying new, fun restaurants. I love eating.

Something most people don't know about me: I have broken my right foot three times and my left foot once…in the same place.

What I like best about Northeast Ohio:  The seasons…. besides winter.

Additional Info You Want People to Know about You: I hate everything pumpkin flavored.