Tupac, Joan Baez, Journey a part of 2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction class

Posted at 8:04 AM, Dec 20, 2016
and last updated 2016-12-20 08:39:49-05

Joan Baez, Tupac Shakur, Yes, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra and Pearl Jam have been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame's 2017 induction class.

Nile Rodgers won the award for Musical Excellence. 

Those inducted were a part of a larger group of 17 nominees that the Rock & Roll named earlier this year. 

The 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Friday, April 7, 2017, at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. Ticket on-sale dates will be announced in January, according to a news release. 

The special exhibition on the 2017 Inductees will open at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame on March 30.

The induction ceremony will be televised on HBO, and a radio broadcast will be aired. Broadcast schedules will be announced early next year. 

Inductees were voted on by more than 900 artists, historians and members of the music industry. Fans voted on nominees to cast ballots for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The top five artists from the fan vote comprised the fans’ ballot that was tallied along with the other ballots to determine the 2017 Inductees. Four of the groups from fans’ ballot (Electric Light Orchestra, Journey, Pearl Jam, and YES) will be inducted as performers in 2017.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The 2017 Nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1991, according to a news release from the nonprofit organization.  



Janet Jackson, Tupac and 17 others among 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees