NewsOhio News


Annual awards ceremony in Canton honors law enforcement officers

US Marshals Service holds awards ceremony
Posted at 10:38 PM, Sep 15, 2019
and last updated 2019-09-16 07:22:53-04

CANTON, Ohio — While the Pro Football Hall of Fame served as the backdrop for an awards ceremony, a different ceremony was not for players on the field, but rather law enforcement protecting and serving on the streets of Northeast Ohio.

The annual United States Marshals Service Awards Ceremony took place in Canton.

Geraldo Rivera, Bernie Kosar and John Clark, President & CEO The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, were all guest speakers at the ceremony.

“It’s a great day to pay tribute to some of America’s finest,” Clark said.

U.S. Marshal of the Northern District of Ohio, Pete Elliott, started the annual event a decade ago to honor federal, state and local law enforcement officers.

Here are the award recipients:

  • Officer of the Year—Wayne Leon
  • U.S. Marshals Operational Employee of the Year—Joshua Lowe, U.S. Marshals, Cleveland
  • U.S. Marshals Administrative Employee of the Year—Maureen Murphy, U.S. Marshals, Cleveland
  • U.S. Marshals Court Security Officer of the Year—Jack Crivel, Cleveland
  • NOVFTF Division of the Year—Akron, Coordinator Chris Snack
  • Law Enforcement Partner of the Year—Ohio State Highway Patrol
  • Citizen of the Year—Dr. Colleen Fitzpatrick and Dr. Margaret Press, Robert Nichols AKA Joseph Chandler Investigation
  • Outstanding Community Partnership—David Greenspan, Ohio House of Representatives
  • John K. Elliott Perseverance in Investigations Award—Shawn Christy Manhunt Team: a joint operation by U.S. Marshals, U.S. Secret Service, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Richland County Sheriff’s Office, Mansfield Police, FBI, Ontario Police Department, Shelby Police Department, U.S. Border Patrol and the Allied Special Operations Response Team
  • Claudia Hoerig Investigation, Extradition and Prosecution Team—Lead by the Trumbull County Prosecutor Dennis Watkins
  • David L. Harlow Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award—Bruce Birr, Lucas County Sheriff’s Office, NOVFTF Toledo
  • Susan Graves Part-Timer Officers of the Year—James Martin- Independence Police Department, Cleveland Division; Chuck Krejsa- Willoughby Police Department, Painesville Division
  • U.S. Marshals Distinguished Group Award (National Director’s Award)—Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force for Operation WE R CLE., Cleveland Police Department, Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Department, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Adult Parole Authority, Cuyahoga County Prosecutor’s Office, FBI, DEA, ATF, U.S. Attorney’s Office and Special Contributor Cleveland City Councilman Mike Polensek.

Notable Division nominees include:

  • Akron Police Department, Akron Division—Troy Meech
  • Canton Division—Chuck Van Camp, Stark County Sheriff’s Office
  • Cleveland Division—Dave Carpenter, Euclid Police Department
  • Lorain Division—Greg Hudson, Lorain County Sheriff’s Office
  • Painesville Division—Chuck Krejsa, Willoughby Police Department
  • Richland Division—JJ Bittinger, Richland County Probation
  • Toledo Division—Trevor Brooks, Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Youngstown Division—Gregory Mullennex, Youngstown Police Department