NewsOhio News


Republican Troy Balderson is unofficial winner 12th Congressional District special election

Posted: 8:14 PM, Aug 07, 2018
Updated: 2018-08-08 17:10:06Z

The last special election before the midterms took place in central Ohio on Tuesday, and it was a close race between Democrat Danny O'Connor and Republican Troy Balderson for an open seat in the 12th Congressional District. The outcome of this special election could be telling as to how midterm elections will play out in November.

Balderson, who is a two-term state senator, had 50.2 percent of the votes, and O'Connor, who is a Franklin County recorder, had 49.3 percent, according to CNN.  

President Trump won the congressional district by 11 points in 2016, according to Scripps news outlet Newsy. The last time a Democrat won the congressional seat was in 1980, Newsy said.

President Trump and Vice President Mike Pence each made campaign appearances for Balderson when it came close to election day — President Trump was in Delaware, Ohio on Saturday.

The 12th Congressional District includes Licking, Delaware, and Morrow counties, and parts of Franklin, Marion, Muskingum, and Richland counties.