WeatherWeather News


Several Northeast Ohio counties issue snow emergencies as winter storm ramps up

Driving in snow
Posted at 8:44 PM, Feb 02, 2022

Northeast Ohio's winter storm is here and in full force. In response, counties across the area have issued a snow emergency.

Here are the counties under a snow emergency and what level has been issued:

Level 1

  • Lorain County
  • Summit County

Level 2

  • Erie County
  • Portage County
  • Wayne County

Level 3

  • Ashland County
  • Huron County
  • Richland County

Snow Emergency classifications, according to the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness:

LEVEL 1: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be icy. Motorists are urged to drive very cautiously.

LEVEL 2: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be very icy. Only those who feel it is necessary to drive should be out on the roads. Contact your employer to see if you should report to work. Motorists should use extreme caution.

LEVEL 3: All roadways are closed to non-emergency personnel. No one should be driving during these conditions unless it is absolutely necessary to travel or a personal emergency exists. All employees should contact their employer to see if they should report to work. Those traveling on the roads may subject themselves to arrest.

RELATED: Never miss an important local story — sign up for Joe Donatelli's 'What Happened Now?' newsletter

Want the latest Power of 5 weather team updates wherever you go? Download the News 5 App free now: Apple|Android

Download the StormShield app for weather alerts on your iOS and Android device: Apple|Android

Click here to view our interactive radar.

Read and watch the latest Power of 5 forecast here.

Follow the News 5 Weather Team:

Mark Johnson: Facebook & Twitter

Remeisha Shade: Facebook & Twitter

Trent Magill: Facebook & Twitter

Katie McGraw: Facebook & Twitter