Janet Jackson, Tupac and 17 others among 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced nominees
Posted at 8:04 AM, Oct 18, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-18 11:17:07-04

Janet Jackson, Tupac and Joan Baez among 17 others were announced as nominees for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2017 class.

The entire list of nominees are: Bad Brains; Chaka Khan; Chic; Depeche Mode; Electric Light Orchestra (ELO); The J. Geils Band; Jane's Addiction; Janet Jackson; Joan Baez; Joe Tex; Journey; Kraftwerk; MC5; Pearl Jam; Steppenwolf; The Cars; The Zombies; Tupac Shakur; and Yes.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The 2017 Nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1991, according to a news release from the nonprofit organization. 

Nominees are on the ballot for the first time include Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Steppenwolf, and Tupac Shakur. Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur became eligible for nomination this year. 

The artists will voted on by more than 800 artists, historians and members of the music industry. Fans will be able to vote beginning Oct. 18 through Dec. 5 on to cast ballots for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2017 inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.  Inductees will be announced in December 2016.  An induction ceremony will be held at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn next year, and will be televised by HBO, the release said.