NewsLocal NewsHuron County News


Counties across Northeast Ohio issue snow emergencies

Driving in snow
Posted at 8:12 PM, Feb 12, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-12 22:55:36-05

HURON COUNTY, Ohio — Counties across Northeast Ohio are starting to issue snow emergencies.

The following counties have issued one:

  • Holmes County: Level 1
  • Huron County: Level 2
  • Ashland County: Level 1
  • Wayne County: Level 1
  • Erie County: Level 1
  • Summit County: Level 1

Snow Emergency classifications, according to the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness:

LEVEL 1: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be icy. Motorists are urged to drive very cautiously.

LEVEL 2: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be very icy. Only those who feel it is necessary to drive should be out on the roads. Contact your employer to see if you should report to work. Motorists should use extreme caution.

LEVEL 3: All roadways are closed to non-emergency personnel. No one should be driving during these conditions unless it is absolutely necessary to travel or a personal emergency exists. All employees should contact their employer to see if they should report to work. Those traveling on the roads may subject themselves to arrest.

Click here to view our interactive radar.

Read and watch the latest Power of 5 forecast here.

Download the News 5 app for more weather information from the Power of 5 weather team: Apple|Android

Download the StormShield app for weather alerts on your iOS and Android device: Apple|Android

Follow the News 5 Weather Team:

Mark Johnson: Facebook & Twitter

Bryan Shaw: Facebook & Twitter

Remeisha Shade: Facebook & Twitter

Trent Magill: Facebook & Twitter

RELATED: Here's everything you need to know about Wednesday's winter weather commute