Tornado warning issued for several counties in Northeast Ohio

Posted at 3:39 PM, Jun 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-16 18:34:02-04

The National Weather Service issued a tornado warning Sunday for Trumbull County that expired at 5:15 p.m.

The National Weather Service previously issued a tornado warning Sunday for the following counties:

  • Portage
  • Geauga
  • Cuyahoga
  • Summit

That warning expired at 4 p.m.

A radar showed a spin near Solon indicating potential for a tornado. The storm was moving east at 30 MPH.

There have not been any reports of a touchdown.

Power Outages

More than 20,000 customers were left without power following the severe storms, according to FirstEnergy.

Crews are working to restore power in Trumbull and Cuyahoga counties.

RELATED: More than 20,000 power outages reported following storms that hit Northeast Ohio

What is the difference between a Tornado Watch and a Tornado Warning issued by the National Weather Service?

Tornado Watch:

Be Prepared. Tornadoes are possible in and near the watch area.

Tornado Warning:

Take Action. A tornado has been sighted or indicated by weather radar. There is imminent danger to life and property. Move to an interior room on the lowest floor of a sturdy building. Avoid windows. If in a mobile home, a vehicle, or outdoors, move to the closest substantial shelter and protect yourself from flying debris.