NewsLocal NewsCleveland Metro


Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces 2021 Induction Class

Inside Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. .jpeg
Posted at 8:05 AM, May 12, 2021
and last updated 2021-05-12 08:11:06-04

CLEVELAND — The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame revealed its 2021 Induction Class Wednesday—revealing the most diverse list of inductees in the history of the organization.

“This diverse class of talented Inductees reflects the Rock Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture”, said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “It will make for an unforgettable live celebration of music in October at this year’s Induction Ceremony in Cleveland.”

And the Inductees are:

Performer Category (honoring bands and solo artists who, in their careers, have created music whose originality, impact and influence has changed the course of rock & roll.)

  • Tina Turner
  • Carole King
  • The Go-Go’s
  • JAY-Z
  • Foo Fighters
  • Todd Rundgren

Early Influence Award (given to a performing artist or group whose music and performance style have directly influenced and helped inspire and evolve rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture.)

  • Kraftwerk
  • Charley Patton
  • Gil Scott-Heron

Musical Excellence Award (given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music.)

  • LL Cool J
  • Billy Preston
  • Randy Rhoads

Ahmet Ertegun Award (given to non-performing industry professionals who, through their dedicated belief and support of artists and their music have had a major influence on the creative development and growth of rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture.)

  • Clarence Avant

Go-Go’s and Jay-Z were on the nomination ballot for the first time. Dave Grohl, of Foo Fighters, will become a two-time inductee having previously been inducted with Nirvana in 2014. Two-time inductees also include Carole King, previously inducted with Gerry Goffin in 1990, and Tina Turner, previously inducted with Ike and Tina Turner in 1991.

“It says that rock and roll is such a full, huge, diverse genre of music that there is something for everyone and it is just really exciting," said Mandy Smith, director of Education at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Cleveland is no stranger to hosting major events and the 36th Annual Induction Ceremony is no different. The ceremony will be hosted on Oct. 30 at 8 p.m. at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse. Tickets go on sale to the public and members in July at

To be eligible, artists are required to have released their first record 25 years prior to induction. Three out of the top five on the “Fans’ Ballot” are being Inducted, including Tina Turner (winning the fan vote), The Go-Go’s, and Foo Fighters. Five million votes were cast.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s 2021 Inductee exhibit celebrating this year’s class opens to the public on July 1.

Download the News 5 Cleveland app now for more stories from us, plus alerts on major news, the latest weather forecast, traffic information and much more. Download now on your Apple device here, and your Android device here.

You can also catch News 5 Cleveland on Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV, YouTube TV, DIRECTV NOW, Hulu Live and more. We're also on Amazon Alexa devices. Learn more about our streaming options here.