Tara Morgan.jpg

Tara Morgan

WEWS

Reporter

Education: Sam Houston State University

Current Position/Job Duties: News 5 Investigator

Previous Work Experience: ABC6/FOX28 Columbus, NBC12 Richmond, VA, KIII and KZTV Corpus Christi, TX, KRIV and KHOU Houston

Joined News 5: April 18, 2022

Email: tara.morgan@wews.com

Twitter: @taramorganTV

Facebook: TaraMorganTV

Most Memorable Stories: The D.C. Beltway Snipers, Ohio State Fair Fire Ball tragedy, Moore, OK Tornado, a Virginia boy with autism rescued after he was lost in the woods for 5 days

Awards/Honors: 3 Ohio Valley Emmys: Investigative Report on public bus safety after a deadly crash, Continuing Coverage of the Fire Ball tragedy at the Ohio State Fair, Continuing Coverage of the heroin epidemic in Central Ohio, and Ohio AP First Place for Enterprise Report on a deadly DUI Cold Case

News Philosophy: Listen closely, dig deep, and tell the most accurate and fair story.

Role Model: Mom and dad. Most grateful for their life lessons, advice, and support.

Favorite Sports Teams: Browns, Cavs, Columbus Blue Jackets.

Favorite Music: “Turns out not where but who you’re with that really matters.” - Dave Matthews Band

Favorite Movie: Breakfast Club

Favorite Program: Ozark, Walking Dead, Better Call Saul

Favorite Food: Go back and forth between Italian and Mexican

Family: Two brothers, one sister. They, along with my parents, live in south Texas

Pet: Jordie (rescue dog adopted after working on a story about him being chained to a tree during a polar vortex) Primo (Yorkie and ruler of the house) Fonzie (recently adopted cat)

Hobbies & Interests: Running. Completed two marathons: San Fransisco, and virtual Boston, numerous half-marathons, 15k’s, 10k’s, 5k’s.

You're most likely to see me around town at: A brewery.

Hidden Talent: I am a little rusty, but a knack for listening to a song and picking out the movie it is in.

Something most people don't know about me: Country music DJ in college

What I like best about Northeast Ohio: The people, sense of community, restaurant scene, and MetroParks

On the weekends I love to: Take the scooters out for some sightseeing and eats with my husband. I have a Genuine Buddy 125 I call “Grasshopper” and he rides a Vespa.

Additional Info You Want People to Know About You: I love to travel with my husband around the country and abroad when we can. A bonus if we can wrap a trip around a Dave Matthews show!

Download our streaming app on your favorite device.  Click here for more.

Click here to see stories with Hope and Heart.